This course will take a broad approach, encompassing many aspects of wellbeing over and above simple physical or mental wellbeing on their own to help you flourish and thrive. 

You may already be familiar with models such as The Five Ways to Wellbeing and Te Whare Tapa Wha which are complementary to the content we will cover here through the Live Well Principles model. 

I invite you to explore these alongside this course, to reflect on what you learn and discuss your learning experience with your colleagues. 

We are stronger together, in community.  

The Five Ways to Wellbeing

You can remember the 5 Ways to Wellbeing with the acronym CLANG: 

C     Connect, me whakawhanaunga  

L     Keep learning, me ako tonu  

A     Be active, me kori tonu 

N     Take notice, me aro tonu 

G     Givetukua 

For more info download the Five Ways to Wellbeing info sheets.

Te Whare Tapa Whã  

Developed by Sir Mason Durie, this Māori health model includes four cornerstones 

  1. whānau (family health)  
  1. tinana (physical health)  
  1. hinengaro (mental health)  
  1. wairua (spiritual health) 

The model is based on being linked to the whenua (land, roots) 

Bonus Resources:

Enjoy this short video introduction to both Te Whare Tapa Whā and the Five Ways to Wellbeing


2 Comments on “1.5 Flourishing”

  1. I have never looked at the Te Whare Tapa Wha as the ‘what’ and the five steps as the ‘how’… I used to teach Health at secondary school and the five steps are crucial to building a strong whare. Thank you.

    1. Yes – I agree! That’s a fabulous way to look at it. Teh 5 ways to wellbeing are one ‘how’ and my five Live Well Principles are another ‘how’
      Good to hear from you Di!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}